Tarot Talk: How to Ask Good Questions in a Tarot Reading

tarot-talk

So you’ve found the a reader who is a good fit for you.  Awesome!  Now how do you figure out what question you want to ask when you’re getting a reading?  Choosing the right question can be difficult.  So how do you figure out what to ask, and once you’ve decided on that how do you phrase the question?

First of all I’m going to spout that old adage that there are no stupid questions.  However, there are some kinds of questions that will get you more useful answers than others.  Some Tarot readers are happy to  work with yes/no questions and there are definitely spreads that offer to answer them, but I find that I get a much richer and more useful reading when I’ve crafted a more nuanced question.  For example: “Will I get a new job?”  The answer to that is pretty simple, yes or no.  Probably not the answer you were really hoping for.  It doesn’t give you any agency in your own future.  I’m sidelining the fact that I don’t read predictively so I don’t know that I could confidently predict something like that.

A better way to ask that question might be “What do I need to do to attract a new job?”  This puts the power back in your hands instead of just wishing out into the universe.  It’s always my goal for one of my tarot readings to empower you.  I want to give you the tools to achieve your goals.  Another way to ask that new job type question would be: “What things do I need to learn to improve my chances of finding the right job for me?”  Just like before, asking this question puts you in the driver’s seat.  It gives you homework to do as you search for employment.

Another thing to keep in mind is that the more open your question is, the more information you’ll be able to get back.  This is not to say you shouldn’t ask specific questions, but consider how you’re phrasing them.  Instead of asking “Will I find love?” you’d probably get more use out of the answer to “What energies do I need to cultivate in myself and my life to help me find my ideal mate?”  Or maybe “What issues do I still need to work through before I’m ready for a new relationship?”

If you’re working with a reader who is a good match for you they should be able to help craft the right kind of questions to ask so you can get the best information in your reading.  Feel free to ask them if you’re unsure about what to ask.  Another option if you’re planning on getting a reading is to ask for a sort of general check in.  Maybe you aren’t having a specific issue at the moment but just want some general insight into where your life is heading.  Those kinds of questions are absolutely okay to ask.  I wouldn’t want you to think that you shouldn’t ask for a reading if you don’t have a laser focused question.  I just want to ensure that if you do need something really specific that you’re asking the best possible question to get you your best possible answer.

And if you’d like to book a reading with me, feel free, I’d be honored to read for you.  head on over to my readings request page.

Leave a Reply

