Wooly Wednesday

wooly-wednesday

You guys, I have been SO SICK for the last few weeks!  It’s been just a cold, but I have asthma so for me, just a cold turns into this interminable coughing jag that lasts forever!  Poor me 😉

But what that means is that I’ve been out of work a handful of days and I’ve spent those days making things!  I picked up quilting and I just cannot stop making quilts!!

post1

My gramma, who passed away January of last year, was an avid and accomplished quilter.  She made so many quilted things in her life.  I have a quilt that she made for me when I went to college and so do my brothers.  And while she was alive, I liked her quilts, thought that they were beautiful, but I had no real interest in making one myself.

I inherited a bunch of her fabric and her quilting books after she passed last year and I’ve just suddenly got the quilting bug.  My gramma, when she was alive, could be a little bit difficult at times, and towards the end when she was struggling with Alzheimer’s and dementia it was tough.  For me, this sudden surge in QUILT ALL THE THINGS, is giving me a way to remember her with more fondness and less difficulty.  It feels rather like an inheritance in and of itself.  As though she’s given me this ability, passing it on to me even after she’s passed.

After all, I have her books and some of her fabric.

I’m having so much fun making things.  So, thanks, gramma.

Leave a Reply

