Nosy Witch Questions: The Hierophant

Nosy Witch Questions (2)

The Hierophant: Best advice you’ve ever received from a witch?

That I was a witch.  I know it sounds a little bit silly and redundant, but seriously.  I went to a gathering of witches that I was invited to along with my wife.  And I went, sort of thinking, okay, they invited Wife because she’s a “Real Witch” and I get to come along too because I’m a little bit witchy too.  But I didn’t believe in myself as a capital letter “W” witch.  I didn’t really feel like I was in the same league as everyone else.

Hello, Impostor Syndrome, the annoying roommate of my entire life who never washes the dishes, steals my food, and doesn’t pay rent.  Would that I could serve you an eviction notice for good.

But a wise witch friend told me that I was absolutely supposed to be there and that I was just as much a witch as anyone else there.  And it stuck.  And I was a witch then and have continued to be.  It helped me to realize that I didn’t need some kind of authority to wave a wander over my head or give me a certificate to be what I knew I was.  Only I could do that.

And it doesn’t matter that my practice isn’t perfect.  That I don’t manage to do some big ritual for every sabbat and esbat or that I don’t manage to do my Tarot daily draw every day.  No one is perfect and being a witch doesn’t mean that I have to be perfect.  I’m still human and I’m allowed to practice however it works for me.  Now, this doesn’t mean that I shouldn’t strive to keep improving (note to self, daily draw, right after this post!  😉 ).  But it means that I can be a work in progress and still be a witch.

And so can you. ❤

 

 

Leave a Reply

